‘Endeavour’ Season 6 begins filming – and Shaun Evans has a new look for 1969!

The new season of Endeavour has been filming in and around Oxford this summer.

The Inspector Morse prequel series launched in 2012 and was renewed for a sixth run of crime mysteries earlier this year.

The detective drama’s new episodes will be set in 1969 and will all be penned by Russell Lewis, who has written all 23 episodes of Endeavour so far.

Shaun Evans will be back as the titular DS and the star will be showing off a new look, with Endeavour Morse embracing the period’s fashion by growing a moustache as he begins his new role as a uniformed officer at the Woodstock police department.

Joining him in Season 6 will be Roger Allam as DI Fred Thursday, Anton Lesser as CS Reginald Bright, Sean Rigby as DS Jim Strange, James Bradshaw as Dr Max DeBryn, Sara Vickers as Joan Thursday, Abigail Thaw as Dorothea Frazil and Caroline O’Neill as Win Thursday.

Shaun Evans is also directing the second feature-length episode, having made his directorial debut on BBC medical drama Casualty earlier this year.

Endeavour creator Russell Lewis commented: “As our story reaches the last year of the 1960s, and mankind makes its giant leap, all at #TeamEndeavour look forward to exploring further early chapters in the casebook of Colin Dexter’s beloved creation.”

Guest stars in Season 6 will include Sophie Winkleman (Two and a Half Men), Blake Ritson (Indian Summers), Matthew Cottle (Unforgotten), Oliver Chris (Motherland), Sargon Yelda (Strike), Alice Orr-Ewing (A Very English Scandal) and Ross Boatman (Mum).

Season 5 is available to buy now on DVD.

The new season of Endeavour will air on ITV in the UK and PBS in the USA in 2019.