‘Father Brown’ episode guide: What happened in Season 9?

The new season of Father Brown is premiering in the UK this month.

Based on the stories by GK Chesterton, BBC One’s period crime drama follows the titular clerical sleuth’s mystery-solving skills in the Cotswolds during the early 1950s.

An eighth season of Father Brown aired two years ago, but with production hitting significant delays due to the coronavirus pandemic, the ninth season only began filming last summer.

Mark Williams (Harry Potter) is now finally back as the titular crime-solving Roman Catholic priest in ten brand new 45-minute mysteries.

He’s joined by returning cast members Sorcha Cusack (Mrs McCarthy), Jack Deam (Inspector Mallory) and John Burton (Sergeant Goodfellow) are Alex Price (Sid Carter), Nancy Carroll (Lady Felicia), Emer Kenny (Bunty Windermere), and John Light (Hercule Flambeau).

Watch the Season 9 trailer:


Father Brown returned in the UK this week, airing daily over the next fortnight.

The new episodes will premiere in the US later this month on BritBox.

Amazon Prime members can watch BritBox as an Amazon Channel and you can sign up for a free trial here!

This year’s season finale is set to be a very special episode as it also celebrates the 100th episode of Father Brown!

Here’s our guide to Season 9’s stories:


Episode 1: ‘The Menace of Mephistopheles’

Goodfellow turns to Father Brown when he witnesses Mallory frame an innocent man.


Episode 2: ‘The Viper’s Tongue’

Mrs McCarthy gets an unwelcome birthday surprise when her life is threatened by a mysterious avenging angel.


Episode 3: ‘The Requiem for the Dead’

Father Brown must delve into the past and open up old wounds when a child killer is found murdered.


Episode 4: ‘The Children of Kalon’

When a troubled soul from the past returns, Father Brown must investigate the new chapter of the Church of Apollo.


Episode 5: ‘The Final Devotion’

Father Brown joins forces with Flambeau to search for a lost treasure in a 15th-century castle.


Episode 6: ‘The New Order’

Father Brown finds his position under threat when he clashes with an influential new parishioner.


Episode 7: ‘The Island of Dreams’

When Father Brown visits Chummy’s holiday camp, it doesn’t take long for someone to die-de-die.


Episode 8: ‘The Wayward Girls’

Bunty reunites with Father Brown to uncover a dark secret at the local girls’ borstal.


Episode 9: ‘The Enigma of Antigonish’

Father Brown investigates staff at the local health spa when an ex-employee is found murdered.


Episode 10: ‘The Red Death’

Lady Felicia and her husband Monty host a lavish masked ball counting down to 1954.

However, their plans are ruined when the Minster of Defence, Sir Charles Hakeworth is murdered by a masked figure.

With the estate locked down and a killer in the midst Father Brown and the gang must find the real perpetrator.


Father Brown is available to watch on Amazon Prime Video.