‘The Durrells’ and ‘The Crown’ stars join cast of BBC’s ‘Les Misérables’ mini-series

More cast members for the BBC’s new Les Misérables adaptation have been revealed.

Victor Hugo’s 19th century classic has been adapted by award-winning screenwriter Andrew Davies (Pride and PrejudiceMr Selfridge) for BBC Studios as a co-production for BBC One and Masterpiece.

Filming began on six 60-minute episodes in Belgium and Northern France earlier this year, from the creative team behind 2016’s acclaimed War and Peace adaptation.

The cast will be led by Dominic West (The Affair, The Hour) as Jean Valjean, David Oyelowo (Selma, Spooks) as Javert and Lily Collins (Tolkien) as Fantine.

They’ll be joined by Josh O’Connor (The Durrells) as Marius, Ellie Bamber (Nocturnal Animals) as Cosette, and Erin Kellyman (Raised By Wolves) as Éponine.

Adeel Akhtar (Victoria & Abdul) and Olivia Colman (The Crown) will play Monsieur and Madame Thénardier.

First published in 1862, Hugo’s novel tells the story of Jean Valjean, a former convict unable to escape the shadow of his past life, and his relentless pursuit by the chilling police officer Javert.

The BBC’s mini-series will not be based on the 1980 musical, like Hugh Jackman’s 2012 movie adaptation.

Les Misérables is expected to air on BBC One in the UK and on Masterpiece on PBS in the US in late 2018 or early 2019.